Scholars Bowl

The AISA is excited to announce a new partnership for our scholars bowl competition.  At the middle school and high school level, we have partnered with the Alabama Scholastic Competition Association (ASCA).  This partnership will automatically allow the winners of the AISA State Scholars Bowl tournaments to now advance to the ASCA state tournament.  We will still utilize the NAQT test series and winners of our state competitions will still be eligible for national competitions.

In doing this, we have now adopted the ASCA rules for competitions.  Please review these rules as they are different from our previous rules.  All AISA middle school and high school teams participating in district/state will also be required to be members of ASCA. This membership has a lot of benefits and opportunities and we hope all AISA will take advantage of this opportunity and participate in many of their related events.

If you have questions about ASCA, visit their website at Alabama Scholastic Competition Association  or if you have membership questions, contact Claudette Smith ( or Sharon Daily (

Registration Forms:  Alabama Scholastic Competition Association Members Page

Check on the available resources to study from: 

NAQT (National Academic Quiz Tournaments) 

AISA District Middle School (grades 6-8) Scholars’ Bowl  Competition Date:  November 29, 2023AISA State Middle School  Scholars’ Bowl Competition Date: January 17, 2024 at Troy University of Montgomery, Whitley Hall – POSTPONED DUE TO WEATHER
AISA District High School (grades 9-12) Scholars’ Bowl Competition Date:  February 14, 2024AISA State High School  Scholars’ Bowl Competition Date:  February 27, 2024 at Troy University of Montgomery, Whitley Hall

The 2024 AISA State MS Scholars’ Bowl Winners are:

PlaceSchoolTeam MembersSponsor
1st PlaceAdvent Episcopal SchoolClarke Snyder
Cameron Bedsole
Nigel Haren
Tyler Durant
Maya Cooper
Ronan Hughes                     
Sponsor:  Rachel Joiner
2nd PlaceThe Lakeside SchoolSam Strickland
Lily Richards
Maggie Moore
Kaylee Clements
Gavin Hollins
Jack Mason
Sponsor: Callie Strickland
High Individual ScorerAdvent Episcopal SchoolClarke Snyder
MS All-State TeamClarke Snyder, Advent Episcopal School
Lily Richards, The Lakeside School
Sam Strickland, The Lakeside School
Ethan Pemberton, Houston Academy
Ethan Reed, Faith Academy

The 2024 AISA State HS Scholars’ Bowl Winners are:

PlaceSchoolTeam MembersSponsor
1st PlaceTuscaloosa AcademyIsaiah Poston
Michael Constantine
Audrey Price
Jacob Stowe  
Matthew Noatch
2nd PlaceThe Donoho SchoolZach Cater
David Robles
Chris Perkins
Grayson White
Walker Bodiford – A
Olivia Nix – A  
David Noone
High Individual Scorers (TIE)Zach Carter, The Donoho School
Michael Constantine, Tuscaloosa Academy
HS All-State TeamDavid Robles, The Donoho School
Isaiah Poston, Tuscaloosa Academy Gavin Heston, Morgan Academy
Thomas Harrell, Patrician Academy
Quick Links

Events Calendar